Pull In for Potjie!

Recently I had lost yet another (dream job) due to my chronic condition of back problems, just when I thought that all was well, after a slow but steady recovery of previous surgery & therapy. However, it just isn’t the case. I have to once again buckle down & persevere. But, by the grace of God I will heal completely!

Anyway, I’d rather not go into too much detail about it. Besides, medical jargon, I find can be way too technical! Yes thus far it’s been an upheaval journey & even though I’m experiencing disappointment once more, I know it simply means that God is not finish mending what’s broken & honing in on what needs healing. I also realise that no matter how much I want things to finally be fixed or, to be able to get back to doing things the way I did before. I realise that it’s not entirely up to me. Yes I have to stay patient, positive & hopeful, but I can’t rush the process!

Never-the-less, medical bills need to be paid right! And one day, an encouraging friend gave me the extra confidence I needed to follow through and host a fundraiser. I am the type to always plan things in my head but never actually make them materialise. Until now! It’s all systems go & full steam ahead these days! I am very happy to say that my very first fundraiser was a fantastic success & an awesome achievement indeed.

I was pleasantly surprised by the turn out of supporters which consisted mainly of close family & friends as my parents & I didn’t know what to expect. So we focused on keeping the numbers to a controllable amount to start with, just incase we bit off more than we could chew! My biggest fear was a contradiction in itself to say the least. I feared not having enough food for everyone because it was still unclear as to who confirmed their attendance & then at the same time I was worried that we’d have too much food, because nobody would turn up! Talk about panic mechanic! ha ha ha!

It all worked out in the end! People responded to my event page which I created on facebook & they graced me with their fun-loving company & their much appreciated coins of course! 🙂

Pull In for Potjie – was the name … Yummy curry was the game!

Traditional South African way of slow cooking food in a cast iron pot over hot coals.

Traditional South African way of slow cooking food in a cast iron pot over hot coals.

SAM_4717SAM_4718

I always believe that a bit of creativity goes a long way! Regardless of the fact that I still like to get messy & draw with chalk! The kid inside of me can’t resist! 🙂 Hey, it was a fun way to draw people’s attention as they walked in through the front door. To get them excited for what was still to come!

Pull In for Potjie [Ekse] - the word ekse deriving from the Afrikaans language; meaning "I say".

Pull In for Potjie [Ekse] – the word ekse deriving from the Afrikaans language; meaning “I say”.

R50.00 got you a generous serving of either beef curry potjie or chicken & veg potjie. Guests could choose from a very hot beef curry with beans in it, which my Dad (the curry chef whom I love very much!) calls the BOY’S POT; as well as a mild beef curry with peas in it, called the GIRL’S POT… served on a light & fluffy bed of rice. For the record, the women ‘braved the burn’, totally devoured the very hot BOY’S POT & However, purely out of fear if you ask me – some of the men ‘Oh so discretely’ ordered from the GIRL’S POT.

This was the mild beef curry with peas

This was the mild beef curry with peas

This was the chicken & vegetable potjie that my oldest cousin Gareth made - Thanks cousin, it was tasty! :)

This was the chicken & vegetable potjie that my oldest cousin Gareth made – Thanks cousin, it was tasty! 🙂

I had a humourous but strict ‘money collector’ (a very good friend of my folks & me) who in his friendly & funny manner, made sure everyone kindly paid for their portion upon arrival. I was actually very grateful because it was one less worry for me for the night!

'Money Collector' & my Mommy

‘Money Collector’ & my Mommy

On another relevent note, my Dad has recently returned home from working away & he has totally transformed our outside area just in time for my fundraiser. It looks absolutely spectacular! Along with our sort of French courtyard inspired outside section which we’ve always loved, he has now enclosed a part of the area & added an antique fire-place to the room; so that in colder weather we are still able to entertain & keep warm in our (outdoor – indoor) environment.

The Bamboo / French Cafe looking outside area

The Bamboo / French Cafe looking outside area

My friend Chantal & her beautiful baby Haley! <3

My friend Chantal & her beautiful baby Haley! ❤

What a cute family they are!

What a cute family they are!

The inside entertainment area, leading to the outside area... the cozy fire-place heats up the space nicely!

The inside entertainment area, leading to the outside area… the cozy fire-place heats up the space nicely!

So with the entertainment area done & dusted. It was ready for the rendezvous!

One thing’s for sure! When it comes to making curry, my Dad likes to stock up on a variety of spices! All the key ingredients, additions & utensils must be at his finger tips& ready for action! Evidently, for the fundraiser he set up the trestle table and loaded it with everything he could possibly have needed. See the image below if you don’t believe me. 🙂

The work space trestle table.

The work space trestle table.

I think it was a sensible & time saving idea indeed. Less running around looking for things that for some reason you just won’t find in a state of panic inevitably brought on by the fact that you have left your cooking station in the first place… and burnt food wouldn’t have been becoming for my patrons now would it!

We improvised when it came to the bar area but it worked out great! Nothing wrong with a bit of repurposing now & then. A vintage cabinet that we are storing for friends of ours, turned out to be quite the perfect mini bar by far! With an added quirky feature of displaying a few plant pots, shot glasses & what have you… Like the funny ‘ Borat Mistouche’ I picked up for only R5.00 at a thrift shop the day before. (How I love a good bargain!) Hillarious! I just had to have it!

Vintage Cabinets can work well as mini bar features.

Vintage Cabinets can work well as mini bar features.

Unfortunately I didn’t take enough photographs so I can’t even begin to show you how many friends & family came to support me and made it the supper success that it was! Young & Old… they all came for curry!

SAM_4736

SAM_4737

SAM_4722

SAM_4725

Pull In for Potjie!

My Dad even had his DJ equipment set up so that we could play music! To me, music helps any occasion drown out the many conversations that are taking place. Not everyone finds it easy to make conversation and music is a cool conversation starter. Some may want to enjoy listening to good music while watching the coals burn on the fire. Easy jazz and old school jams were among the tracks selected to boogy down to. 🙂 And dancing there was!

Daddy's DJ equipment

Daddy’s DJ equipment

All I can say is that the running around to get things ready – was waaaaaaaaaay worth it. The pots were hungrily cleaned out! Finish & klaar! Delicious! There was only enough chicken & vegetable potjie left for us four to have as Sunday lunch the following day… and all the bones for Rusty no doubt.

I must express a huge thank you to my parents for supporting me & agreeing to host the fundraiser at our home & for funding the potjies & everything inbetween. I wouldn’t have been able to do it without you! You guys rock! I love you loads! Also a special thank you to ALL who so kindly came – out in the cold – to support me & joined in on the foody fun! I truly, madly, deeply appreciate your generosity!

Do watch this space to find out what the next fundraiser is all about! I will do my best to post an update a.s.a.p peeps! You can also expect an extra element to look forward to… come HUNGRY!

Aaaargh! I'm hungry!

Aaaargh! I’m hungry!

Yours in finding-fabulous-food…

Jodi

Leave a Reply

